logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
New Rigs with USB ports ?
K2WH
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2018 9:49:49 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 75
Location: New Jersey

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Dennis,

I have a Yaesu FTdx3000 that has a USB port for data input and output, audio and switching.

It also has a serial port but I would like to use the USB port since it is so easy to use.

Are there any plans to include USB support in the future?

Bill
K2WH
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
W5RAE
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 29, 2018 10:46:21 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 46
Location: Plano, TX

Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Bill,

It's already supported. I have an FTDX-3000 and it is interfaced with LOGic9 using the USB enhanced port and works great. My setup is:

rig FT-9000,FT-5000,FT-2000, COM8, 38400 baud, 2 stop bits

Hope this helps,

73,
Ron
W5RAE
1 user thanked W5RAE for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 5/29/2018(UTC)
K2WH
#3 Posted : Sunday, June 3, 2018 6:58:26 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 75
Location: New Jersey

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Originally Posted by: W5RAE Go to Quoted Post
Bill,

It's already supported. I have an FTDX-3000 and it is interfaced with LOGic9 using the USB enhanced port and works great. My setup is:

rig FT-9000,FT-5000,FT-2000, COM8, 38400 baud, 2 stop bits

Hope this helps,

73,
Ron
W5RAE

K2WH
#4 Posted : Sunday, June 3, 2018 7:06:02 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 75
Location: New Jersey

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
I'm not sure how to use this site in replying, somewhat confusing since I already replied and my reply has not shown up.

Anyway, thanks for your response, but the FTdx3000 is not listed as a supported rig.

Secondly, if I Tools, Setup, Rig, there are numerous tabs. Which one do I select?

Radio IFC or Radio Terminal and what settings do I choose ?

Bill
K2WH
W5RAE
#5 Posted : Monday, June 4, 2018 10:48:27 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 46
Location: Plano, TX

Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Bill,

select Radio IFC, then select: rig FT-9000,FT-5000,FT-2000, your COM port #, select baud rate you have on the 3000, 2 stop bits

73,
Ron
W5RAE
1 user thanked W5RAE for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 6/4/2018(UTC)
WN4AZY
#6 Posted : Monday, June 4, 2018 12:21:53 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,287
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 459 times
Was thanked: 308 time(s) in 244 post(s)
I'll add the FT-3000 to the list of rigs in the description of that interface.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
WN4AZY
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 5, 2018 3:14:15 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,287
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 459 times
Was thanked: 308 time(s) in 244 post(s)
Unfortunately rigs with USB ports do not simplify anything. They save a little money and clutter is all. They are simply built-in USB=>RS232 converters. They are still seen as a regular old Com port by Windows and LOGic. You still have to know the proper baud rate, etc. Not at all like plugging in a mouse or camera. Maybe someday....
w0yv
#8 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2018 8:30:18 PM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Posts: 1
Location: robins

Dennis,
I have a FT-991a and the USB to USB port connection using ftdx3000/5000/9000 definitions does not work. I have tried on different computers and numerous COM settings and get the same results. Logic does not crash and seems to communicate with the FT-991a when the COM settings are all correct in computer and radio and Logic. Logic displays the radio's frequency 14.250Mhz as .14250. The mode buttons will change the radio modes but then switch back to showing the first button as pressed. I have used other programs (Fldigi and WSJT-X) with the USB to USB connection and it works on a FT991a definition but won't work if using a FT9000 or FT5000 definition. So if you get a chance it would be great if you can figure out the slight differences between the FT991a and FTdx3000 CAT commands and create a fully working FT-991a definition.
WN4AZY
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2018 9:14:27 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,287
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 459 times
Was thanked: 308 time(s) in 244 post(s)
Hi--

I looked at the CAT commands and responses for the 991a and they look in the ballpark for the newer Yeasus -- similar to Kenwood:
https://static.dxenginee...es/y/ysu-ft-991a_us.pdf

Please do this for me. Try the legacy interface, #15. Let me know if it works. My notes say it works with that. But probably that is wrong since you tried the FT-5000 on other programs.

Then switch back to the new interface, #52. Turn COM PORT DATA LOGGER on in the General tab. Operate the rig a minute or so, then turn off the data logger. Send me the result. It will be in LOGic's TMP folder, probably c:\program files (x86)\logic\tmp.

I will fix it for you.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY

N2LVI
#10 Posted : Tuesday, April 2, 2019 10:05:31 PM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Posts: 4
Location: New Jersey

Originally Posted by: WN4AZY Go to Quoted Post
Hi--

I looked at the CAT commands and responses for the 991a and they look in the ballpark for the newer Yeasus -- similar to Kenwood:
https://static.dxenginee...es/y/ysu-ft-991a_us.pdf

Please do this for me. Try the legacy interface, #15. Let me know if it works. My notes say it works with that. But probably that is wrong since you tried the FT-5000 on other programs.

Then switch back to the new interface, #52. Turn COM PORT DATA LOGGER on in the General tab. Operate the rig a minute or so, then turn off the data logger. Send me the result. It will be in LOGic's TMP folder, probably c:\program files (x86)\logic\tmp.

I will fix it for you.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY



Was this problem with the FT-991A ever resolved? I'm trying out the demo program, but if it doesn't work with the FT-991A, the LOGic software is not as useful. I have the same problem with the frequency listed as 1/10 of the actual freq (eg, 1.4250 vs 14.250), shows wrong mode, VFO frequency does not get updated in the log form, etc.
wa4pgm
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 3, 2019 3:46:53 PM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 244
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 16 times
Was thanked: 133 time(s) in 113 post(s)
Dennis,
I tried 15 and 52 and neither worked with my 991. I don't have the 991A but they should be the same. I captured the ComportDataLogger file and attached it here.
File Attachment(s):
COM3_Log.txt (20kb) downloaded 4 time(s).
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 4/5/2019(UTC)
WN4AZY
#12 Posted : Friday, April 5, 2019 2:12:41 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,287
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 459 times
Was thanked: 308 time(s) in 244 post(s)
Thanks Kyle--that's exactly what I need. I'll look at it.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
N2LVI
#13 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2019 8:47:33 PM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Posts: 4
Location: New Jersey

Any progress in getting the FT-991/991A working properly? I'm anxious to try this software out. Thanks!
WN4AZY
#14 Posted : Friday, May 3, 2019 10:11:34 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,287
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 459 times
Was thanked: 308 time(s) in 244 post(s)
Try the new 9.1.41 update. Let me know how it works.

Tnx & 73,


Dennis WN4AZY
wa4pgm
#15 Posted : Friday, May 3, 2019 11:33:59 AM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 244
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 16 times
Was thanked: 133 time(s) in 113 post(s)
Not working here.

Logic displays the radio's frequency 14.250Mhz as 1.4250 for example.

See attached file.
File Attachment(s):
COM3_Log.txt (40kb) downloaded 7 time(s).
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 7/7/2019(UTC)
N2LVI
#16 Posted : Monday, July 1, 2019 10:30:52 PM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Posts: 4
Location: New Jersey

Still no support for the FT-991A? The latest version still displays the frequency shifted one decimal place (see WA4PGM's comments).
WN4AZY
#17 Posted : Sunday, July 7, 2019 2:36:44 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,287
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 459 times
Was thanked: 308 time(s) in 244 post(s)
Thanks for the post. I missed Kyle's post. I'll work on it today. Should be a simple fix (famous last words).

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
WN4AZY
#18 Posted : Monday, July 8, 2019 4:55:53 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,287
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 459 times
Was thanked: 308 time(s) in 244 post(s)
Ok, try it again. Please re-download and install 9.1.41.

Tnx/73,

DH
wa4pgm
#19 Posted : Monday, July 8, 2019 6:26:39 AM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 244
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 16 times
Was thanked: 133 time(s) in 113 post(s)
9.1.41 downloaded and installed

not working here.

3.542 is displayed as 3.354200
14.250 is 14.425000
21.017 is 21.101700

etc......
wa4pgm
#20 Posted : Monday, July 8, 2019 2:44:55 PM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 244
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 16 times
Was thanked: 133 time(s) in 113 post(s)
I forgot to attach COM port logger
File Attachment(s):
COM3_Log.txt (118kb) downloaded 0 time(s).
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 7/8/2019(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest
2 Pages12>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.126 seconds.