logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Power in CW Keyer memory
W7OO
#1 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 10:25:13 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 164
Location: Carnation, WA

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 4 post(s)
I want to put the power from my Main Log form in the CW keyer so I can send it. I first tried putting it in a long string of other stuff and got an error when I tried to save it. Then I tried putting just PWR in a keyer field by itself. Logic gave me the same syntax error message and offered to bring up the expression builder (I'm not sure that is what it was called). I noted that when I selected power using the expression builder that it put LOG.pwr in the field but I still got the same error when I tried to save it. What is the proper syntax to get power from the main log form and put it in a CW keyer field by itself.

I might add that I have many other iif statements etc running in other CW keyer fields. They are all working just fine. It is only power that I am having trouble with.

Thanks,

Bill
W7OO
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
WN4AZY
#2 Posted : Sunday, July 22, 2012 8:45:26 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 3,060
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 975 times
Was thanked: 486 time(s) in 401 post(s)
Hi Bill:

You need to do something like this:

TRANS(PWR)

or more realistically,

"MY TX PWR IS " + TRANS(PWR)

PWR is numeric, that's why it requires special treatment. TRANS() converts any data type to string.

You can get fancy:

IIF(PWR>0, "MY TX PWR IS " + TRANS(PWR), "")

This way the macro will send nothing if your power field is not filled in. Otherwise it would say

MY TX PWR IS 0

which is really really QRP hihi.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
W7OO
#3 Posted : Monday, July 23, 2012 12:59:53 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 164
Location: Carnation, WA

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Hi Dennis,

Thanks for the fast reply.

I still can't make it work!

When I enter "My pwr out is " +trans(pwr) the keyer sends [my pwr out is *.**]. If I put just trans(pwr) in a memory it sends *.** so it is consistent!

Thanks for any help you can give me,

Bill
W7OO
WN4AZY
#4 Posted : Monday, July 23, 2012 2:00:16 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 3,060
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 975 times
Was thanked: 486 time(s) in 401 post(s)
Ok, sorry. You need

TRANS(PWR, "####")

Tnx & 73,

Dennis
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.017 seconds.