logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Exporting Log data as a comma delimited file
N7TB
#1 Posted : Tuesday, June 22, 2021 11:44:39 PM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I have setup additional fields such as rig, antenna used, My QTH, Straight Key box, etc. I would really like to export every field in my log as a comma delimited file.

I am not a programmer. is there some way in the program to do this without having to write my own script. Logic is a very customizable and powerful program, but without programming knowledge, I am limited on what I can do with it.

Thanks,

Terry, N7TB
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
WN4AZY
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 23, 2021 7:33:05 AM(UTC)
admin

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Man

Was thanked: 484 time(s) in 399 post(s)
Hi--

LOGic has a primitive CSV exporter under tools/export. Unfortunately, it just exports the raw user-defined field data into one column.

What I would recommend is making an ADIF file, which breaks out the user-defined fields, and using this to convert to CSV. I tried it and it seems OK. I use the free LibreOffice Calc spreadsheet, which is very similar to Microsoft Excel. Set the separator to , and the string delimiter to "

http://software.ad1c.us/ADIF_to_CSV/index.html

BTW I actually don't like CSV. If your data contains commas and quotes, or maybe just quotes, as LOGic's data possibly could, you are screwed. Tab-delimited is a lot easier to work with.

Let me know if any ????s.

Tnx/73,

WN4AZY
N7TB
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 23, 2021 11:29:31 AM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hi Dennis,