logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

DATE field not wide enough to display full date
NS4X
#1 Posted : Monday, February 10, 2020 9:29:37 PM(UTC)
Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 11
Location: Tennessee

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
I have noticed that the width of the date field is not wide enough to display the full date. I will try to attach a screen snip to show what I am seeing. When I attempt to make the field wider the controls for field width are grayed out. How can I fix this?

Bart, NS4X
File Attachment(s):
LOGic 9 date field.PNG (2kb) downloaded 17 time(s).
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
wa4pgm
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 11, 2020 12:50:44 PM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 265
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 17 times
Was thanked: 145 time(s) in 124 post(s)
Select Tools/Miscellaneous Utilities from the menu bar, and run Change size of log fields.
73 Kyle
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 2/12/2020(UTC)
NS4X
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 11, 2020 8:59:16 PM(UTC)
Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 11
Location: Tennessee

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Kyle,

Thank you for the quick reply. I found this menu item before I posted my question, but it was not clear to me if it changed the "size" of the *database* field (i.e., how information it can hold) or if it affected the display size of the field on the form. It is a date field; it holds the correct amount of information; the box on the screen is just too small to display the full day-month-year without truncating the year. The warning before running that change size utility talks about keeping the fields shorter to conserve disk space. That seems to indicate that it is changing the size of the database field, which is not the problem. The width of the box on the screen needs to be wider.

73, Bart
NS4X
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 11, 2020 9:10:47 PM(UTC)
Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 11
Location: Tennessee

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Some extra information. What I have discovered is that the program is displaying the year differently since January 1, 2020. In previous years the year was displayed with two digits, e.g., 23-12-19, but after January 1, 2020 the year is being displayed with four digits, e.g., 01-01-2020. I have attached screen snips to demonstrate what I am seeing. The size of the field *on teh form* is too short to display all of the characters when the year is displayed with four digits.

Bart. NS4X
File Attachment(s):
LOGic 9 date 2019.PNG (2kb) downloaded 11 time(s).
LOGic 9 date 2020.PNG (2kb) downloaded 10 time(s).
wa4pgm
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 12, 2020 6:45:40 AM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 265
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 17 times
Was thanked: 145 time(s) in 124 post(s)
Okay you might check this I thought there was another option but couldn't find it at the time of my first reply.

Tools>Options>Applications
My date format is set for "control panel short", does that help? I don't see the issue here.
WN4AZY
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 12, 2020 6:44:47 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,425
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 535 times
Was thanked: 354 time(s) in 279 post(s)
Hi--

It looks OK here.

What font are you using? Try right-clicking the background of the log form, selecting Form Properties, then clicking the factory font. It looks like you are using a proportional font. Try a fixed-width font.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY

File Attachment(s):
date.png (3kb) downloaded 6 time(s).
wa4pgm
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 12, 2020 7:19:31 PM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 265
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 17 times
Was thanked: 145 time(s) in 124 post(s)
I kind of thought on those lines as to font but I changed the size here and everything looked good. However I didn't change font type.
NS4X
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 12, 2020 9:34:15 PM(UTC)
Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 11
Location: Tennessee

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Thank you both for the responses. Changing the font made things worse for the whole form. It was originally set on Courier New 9 pt so I put it back to that. The date format was already set to control panel short. However, I changed it to YMD and changed the separator to a slash and now it looks good.

73,
Bart, NS4X
1 user thanked NS4X for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 2/18/2020(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.057 seconds.