logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

USERFIELD multiple pipes - possible resolution
n8gls
#1 Posted : Sunday, September 9, 2018 11:27:14 PM(UTC)
bwilliams

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 236
Location: Mentor, OH

Thanks: 47 times
Was thanked: 41 time(s) in 37 post(s)
I had the issue of having multiple pipes in USERFIELDS for several entries, CONT, VE PROV, and OBLAST. I suspected something with several of the contest logforms as I didnt have any issues with non-contest QSO entries. So, this weekend I made a few Q's in the ARRL VHF Contest and the result was multiple pipes again being entered in USERFIELDS, in this case CONT:NA|||||. The contest logform I used was ARRL VHF, and I found in set-up under "Copy from prefix table" an expression for continent "IIF(DXCC_PFX = GLOBAL.MY_DXCC,"",MAKE_TAG("CONT:",CONTINENT)) + " " + LEFT(LOCATION,AT("|",LOCATION))" So, I think the tail end of that expression is where the issue is. I deleted + " " + LEFT(LOCATION,AT("|",LOCATION)). Logging the next QSO I got CONT:NA|, without the additional pipes added. In other logforms I see the expression MAKE_TAG("CONT:",CONTINENT) used but not with the tail end + " " + LEFT(LOCATION,AT...stuff. I get the IIF statement, but not the tail end of the expression.

Thanks,

de Brad
File Attachment(s):
LogformSetUp.JPG (118kb) downloaded 7 time(s).
Userfield.JPG (26kb) downloaded 8 time(s).
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
n8gls
#2 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 2:14:38 PM(UTC)
bwilliams

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 236
Location: Mentor, OH

Thanks: 47 times
Was thanked: 41 time(s) in 37 post(s)
Ok,

So I'm learning....posting this as an aide to myself and others who may benefit.

My previous post wasn't thought thru all the way.....All my issues of multiple pipes related to VE PROV, OBLAST, and CONTINENT. Not thinking clearly I obviously missed the fact that the the expression(s) are returning everything up to AND including the pipe from the Location in the prefix table. So, if the prefix table contains "Ve Prov:ab| Alberta", the expression will insert VE PROV:AB| in USERFIELDS (the "Alberta" is stripped out as its AFTER the pipe |). Oblasts are listed the same way in the location field with a pipe at the end of the Oblast name. So, I'm guessing that anything entered into USERFIELDS is by default seperated by a pipe which if true would ADD a pipe to each, i.e., VE PROV:AB||. In addition to that, the other expression I see is LEFT(LOCATION,AT("|",LOCATION)) which, guessing again, is adding an additional pipe (or more) as its returning everything in the location field up to and including the first pipe of what was already entered by any previous expressions, then yet another pipe as its an additional entry in USERFIELDS, maybe even if its "empty". So it seems I can have potentially 3, 4, or more pipes being added. I included a jpeg of the prefix table showing the description in the location field.

de Brad
File Attachment(s):
Prefix Table.JPG (134kb) downloaded 11 time(s).
1 user thanked n8gls for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 9/11/2018(UTC)
WN4AZY
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 5:47:06 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,309
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 470 times
Was thanked: 311 time(s) in 247 post(s)
Thanks -- I'll have to look at the code for that. Good detective work!

Many tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
1 user thanked WN4AZY for this useful post.
n8gls on 9/11/2018(UTC)
WN4AZY
#4 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2018 10:02:42 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,309
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 470 times
Was thanked: 311 time(s) in 247 post(s)
I got the exact same results here. The expression LEFT(LOCATION,AT("|",LOCATION)) also appears in the line below, so it was duplicated. Not sure why it added so many ||||. I updated my master copy.

Thanks, I really appreciate it!

Dennis WN4AZY
n8gls
#5 Posted : Sunday, September 16, 2018 10:36:52 PM(UTC)
bwilliams

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 236
Location: Mentor, OH

Thanks: 47 times
Was thanked: 41 time(s) in 37 post(s)
No problem !!

Did you just make it grab everything in Location BEFORE and not including the pipe ??

Brad
WN4AZY
#6 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 5:17:07 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,309
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 470 times
Was thanked: 311 time(s) in 247 post(s)
LEFT(LOCATION,AT("|",LOCATION))

No, it still grabs everything including the pipe. IOTA:SA-007| for instance.

This is correct in this instance. It is a user-defined field in the proper format. and is being copied to userfields. I just don't know why having it in there twice just did't enter the value twice.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
1 user thanked WN4AZY for this useful post.
n8gls on 9/17/2018(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.292 seconds.