logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Very slow callbook lookup
n8gls
#1 Posted : Thursday, December 29, 2016 9:48:34 AM(UTC)
bwilliams

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 226
Location: Mentor, OH

Thanks: 45 times
Was thanked: 41 time(s) in 37 post(s)
Running LOGic v9.1.6 & Windows 10 and using QRZ Subscription exclusively....

Today when I tried a look-up on a local call, it took two to four times as long and resulted in the message "call not found". I tried my call with the same result. I enabled the web display and it works, displaying the looked up callsign data in the browser, but the callbook window still displayed "call not found". I also disabled QRZ and used Logic and FCC, both produced the callsign lookup but they took an unusually long time to return the lookup.

Has anyone else seen this ??

I did have an unusual LOGic error earlier this morning after trying to rotate the antenna, LOGic shut down, when performing a clean, that errored out as well. I re-booted the PC and all seemed to be fine, except when I did the callbook look-up above.

Update: So, after a bit more troubleshooting, QRZ non-subscription seems to work just fine (when logged-in) so I suspect that something may have changed with the subscription service.

Brad, N8GLS
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
N8VZ
#2 Posted : Thursday, December 29, 2016 4:35:13 PM(UTC)
cjdenbow

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 29
Man
Location: EM89wh

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Same problem here, exactly as described. One thing that seems odd is that there appears to be nowhere in LOGic9 to enter one's QRZ subscription password. Is it hidden somewhere that I've missed? I don't recall entering the password information in previous versions, but I may have done so and forgotten. At any rate, what N8GLS says is my experience today. Thanks for checking into a solution, Dennis. -- 73 de Carl N8VZ

P.S. Just doubled-checked further, and N8GLS is also correct that if I disable subscription and just used qrz non-subscription it works FB.
WN4AZY
#3 Posted : Thursday, December 29, 2016 9:42:27 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,282
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 456 times
Was thanked: 308 time(s) in 244 post(s)
The QRZ XML Subscription site changed yesterday. Please get the new 9.1.7 update for that. It now includes the bio onscreen now.

I see no change in the qrz.com web site. It works here with LOGic.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
2 users thanked WN4AZY for this useful post.
n8gls on 12/29/2016(UTC), N5XZ on 12/30/2016(UTC)
n8gls
#4 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 9:32:47 AM(UTC)
bwilliams

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 226
Location: Mentor, OH

Thanks: 45 times
Was thanked: 41 time(s) in 37 post(s)
Dennis,

Thanks for getting the bio in the callbook window again, very nice !!

The XML Subscription works fine now.

Happy New Year!

73's de Brad, N8GLS
1 user thanked n8gls for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 12/30/2016(UTC)
N5XZ
#5 Posted : Friday, December 30, 2016 11:37:10 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 270
Location: Richmond, TX

Thanks: 21 times
Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 17 post(s)
Thanks, working here now.
73, Allen N5XZ
1 user thanked N5XZ for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 12/30/2016(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.077 seconds.