logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Problem downloading QSO's from LOTW
K4KL
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 9, 2020 3:55:43 PM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6
Man
Location: Charlotte, NC

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I am using the latest release of Logic 9 (9.20.10). Suddenly I cannot "import my LOTW QSLs or said another way, download my QSO confirmations" from LOTW.

I receive the error:
Returned results are not ADIF. Possible reasons include bad user/password. Check the returned HTML for error messages. I have checked and my user ID and password are OK and are the ones I have always used.

Has anyone experienced this error by chance? And is there a fix or resolution for this problem that you could share with me.

Rick Kourey (K4KL)
Marvin/Charlotte, NC
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
WN4AZY
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 6:46:44 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,444
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 551 times
Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 283 post(s)
Hi Rick:

LOGic is asking LoTW to send it an ADIF file, and LoTW is erroring for some reason.

You have to do what it says -- wade thru the HTML and look for the error message it is sending you.

Here is a hint to make that easier. You can copy and paste the HTML into a text file in Notepad. Save it as LOTW.HTML, and double-click it. That way your browser will decode the HTML making it easier to read.

Let me know.

Tnx/73

WN4AZY
W8JY
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 8:02:48 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 55
Man
Location: Au Gres MI

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 10 post(s)
I am having the same problem, but get no error message. I have not received a confirmation on any QSO made after 08/16/2020. All QSOs downloaded to me were shown as already received and all prior to 08/16/20. I re-installed v9.20.8 with similar results. I unchecked several recent QSOs from stations that I know use LOTW and upload regularly - still no change when I downloaded. I hesitate to download all QSOs - that would mean over 50,000 contacts.

Any other suggestions?

Jess, W8JY
W8JY
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 8:25:50 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 55
Man
Location: Au Gres MI

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 10 post(s)
LOTW has a new version of TQSL available - I down loaded it, unchecked the qsl sent boxes and re-tried downloading- still no luck.
wa4pgm
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 9:54:49 AM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 277
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 150 time(s) in 129 post(s)
Maybe an issue with LOTW as I just uploaded and downloaded from LOTW with no issues.
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 9/10/2020(UTC)
W8JY
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 11:20:27 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 55
Man
Location: Au Gres MI

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 10 post(s)
Correction: I meant to say that I again uploaded, then downloaded, but got the same result.
K4KL
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 12:08:55 PM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6
Man
Location: Charlotte, NC

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I have the latest version of TQSL and it made no difference. Still cannot download and import my LOTW QSO's. Looked at the text error message I was receiving and I did what Dennis recommended. But it was Greek to me and above my pay grade to resolve or understand. I cannot believe only two or three Logic 9 users have experienced this problem.

Rick Kourey (K4KL)
Marvin/Charlotte, NC
wa4pgm
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 12:53:06 PM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 277
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 150 time(s) in 129 post(s)
attach or post the error message here so we can read it.
wa4pgm
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 2:35:36 PM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 277
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 150 time(s) in 129 post(s)
Can you login to LoTW from your web browser?
K4KL
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 3:03:09 PM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6
Man
Location: Charlotte, NC

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Here is what I see (error message) when I attempt to download QSO's from LOTW:


Returned results are not ADIF. Possible reasons include bad/user password. Check the returned HTML for error messages.


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<HTML><HEAD><TITLE>ARRL's Logbook of the World</TITLE>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/js/jquery-ui-1.11.4.custom/jquery-ui.min.css" type="text/css">
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/js/jquery-ui-1.11.4.custom/jquery-ui.structure.min.css" type="text/css">
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/js/jquery-ui-1.11.4.custom/jquery-ui.theme.min.css" type="text/css">

<link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/lotw/lotw.password.checker.css">
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/lotw/lotw.css" type="text/css">



<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/jquery-1.11.3.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/jquery-migrate-1.2.1.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/jquery-ui-1.11.4.custom/jquery-ui.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/dialog-base.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/dialog-lotw.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/dialog-search-help.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/api-base.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/site-search.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
jQuery( document ).tooltip();
</script>

<!-- uncomment the following to enable Google Analytics on the production web server ONLY -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/ga.js"></script>
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
jQuery(document).ready(function() {
dlgLOTW.ready();
});
</script>
</HEAD>

<BODY LINK="#0000FF" VLINK="#0000FF" BGCOLOR="#FFFFFF">
<table cellspacing=0 border=0 cellpadding=0 class='pagehead'>
<tr valign="top">
<td rowspan=2><img src="/lotw-logo.jpg" width=333 height=220
border=0 alt="Logbook of the World"><br>
<A HREF="https://p1k.arrl.org/adredir.php3?id=5" TARGET="ARRLWebAdWindow"><IMG SRC="https://p1k.arrl.org/adbanners/Yaesu-PS8.gif" ALT="Yaesu -- Choice of the World's top DX'ers -- Ad" WIDTH="468" HEIGHT="60" BORDER="0" style="margin:5px;border:solid #888 1px"></A>
</td>
<td width="100%">
<TABLE BORDER=0 CELLPADDING=3 CELLSPACING=0 WIDTH="100%" class='userhead'>
<TR>
<TD align="right">Today is Thu, 10 Sep 2020 UTC</TD>
</TR>
<TR>


<TD align="right"><A HREF="/lotw/login"><b>Log On</b></A></TD>

</TR>
</TABLE>
<div style='height:120px;'>&nbsp;</div>
<table border=0 cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 width="100%">
<tr>
<td align='right'><div style='padding-right:10px;'><label id='data_help_search_q_lbl' for='data_help_search_q'>Search Help: </label><input type='text' id='data_help_search_q' name='data_help_search_q' value='Search Help'/>
<button type='button' id="help_search_btn">Search</button></div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>
<tr valign="bottom">
<td></td>
</tr>
</table>

<SCRIPT type="text/javascript">
// This is needed for older browsers (like < IE 10) which
// don't gronk the autofocus attribute on the input element
window.onload = function() {
var input = document.getElementById("username").focus();
}
</SCRIPT>
<H3>Log on to Logbook of the World</H3>
<P>
<I>Note:</I> You must have been issued a certificate before you can log on to the LoTW site.
<P>
<FORM ACTION="/lotwuser/lotwreport.adi" METHOD="post">
<table cellspacing=0 border=0 cellpadding=3>
<tr>
<td align="right"><b>Username:</b></td>
<td><INPUT TYPE="text" id="username" name="login" size=12 autofocus></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="right"><b>Password:</b></td>
<td><INPUT TYPE="password" name="password" size=12> Note: This is <b>not</b> the password
sent to US amateurs via postcard!</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td></td>
<td><a href="/lotw/forgot">Forgot password?</a>
</tr>
<tr>
<td></td>
<td><INPUT TYPE="submit" VALUE="Log On"></td>
</tr>
</table>
<INPUT type="hidden" name="acct_sel" value="">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="qso_owncall" value="">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="qso_qsl" value="yes">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="qso_qsldetail" value="yes">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="qso_qslsince" value="1900-01-01">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="qso_query" value="1">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="qso_withown" value="yes">

<INPUT type="hidden" name="thisForm" value="login">
</FORM>
<P>
<I>Username/password incorrect</I>

<P>
Try entering your password in all lower case. If that doesn't work, please contact the Help desk via e-mail at LoTW-help@arrl.org or other methods at <A HREF="/lotw-help/GettingHelp/" target="_blank">Getting Help</A>

<P>
Your browser must support cookies and be set to accept cookies from
lotw.arrl.org in order to log in.

<p>Not a member of Logbook of the World? <a href="http://www.arrl.org/quick-start">Get started today!</a></p>
<p><a href="http://www.arrl.org">ARRL website</a></p>
<br clear="all">
<table width="100%">
<TR>
<TD width="50%" align="left">
<P style="font-size:80%">
Copyright 2020 American Radio Relay League, Inc.<BR>
All Rights Reserved
</p>
</TD>
<TD width="50%" align="right" valign="bottom">
<P style="font-size:80%">
<a href="http://www.arrl.org/privacy-policy" target="_blank">Terms of Use/Privacy Policy</a>
</p>

</TD>
</TR>
</table>

</BODY></HTML>
K4KL
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 3:18:18 PM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6
Man
Location: Charlotte, NC

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
And YES, I can log onto LOTW (successfully) from my web browswer. And the password works as it should.
WN4AZY
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 3:24:49 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,444
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 551 times
Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 283 post(s)
Originally Posted by: K4KL Go to Quoted Post
Here is what I see (error message) when I attempt to download QSO's from LOTW:


Returned results are not ADIF. Possible reasons include bad/user password. Check the returned HTML for error messages.


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<HTML><HEAD><TITLE>ARRL's Logbook of the World</TITLE>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/js/jquery-ui-1.11.4.custom/jquery-ui.min.css" type="text/css">
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/js/jquery-ui-1.11.4.custom/jquery-ui.structure.min.css" type="text/css">
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/js/jquery-ui-1.11.4.custom/jquery-ui.theme.min.css" type="text/css">

<link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/lotw/lotw.password.checker.css">
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/lotw/lotw.css" type="text/css">



<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/jquery-1.11.3.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/jquery-migrate-1.2.1.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/jquery-ui-1.11.4.custom/jquery-ui.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/dialog-base.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/dialog-lotw.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/dialog-search-help.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/api-base.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/site-search.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
jQuery( document ).tooltip();
</script>

<!-- uncomment the following to enable Google Analytics on the production web server ONLY -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/ga.js"></script>
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
jQuery(document).ready(function() {
dlgLOTW.ready();
});
</script>
</HEAD>

<BODY LINK="#0000FF" VLINK="#0000FF" BGCOLOR="#FFFFFF">
<table cellspacing=0 border=0 cellpadding=0 class='pagehead'>
<tr valign="top">
<td rowspan=2><img src="/lotw-logo.jpg" width=333 height=220
border=0 alt="Logbook of the World"><br>
<A HREF="https://p1k.arrl.org/adredir.php3?id=5" TARGET="ARRLWebAdWindow"><IMG SRC="https://p1k.arrl.org/adbanners/Yaesu-PS8.gif" ALT="Yaesu -- Choice of the World's top DX'ers -- Ad" WIDTH="468" HEIGHT="60" BORDER="0" style="margin:5px;border:solid #888 1px"></A>
</td>
<td width="100%">
<TABLE BORDER=0 CELLPADDING=3 CELLSPACING=0 WIDTH="100%" class='userhead'>
<TR>
<TD align="right">Today is Thu, 10 Sep 2020 UTC</TD>
</TR>
<TR>


<TD align="right"><A HREF="/lotw/login"><b>Log On</b></A></TD>

</TR>
</TABLE>
<div style='height:120px;'>&nbsp;</div>
<table border=0 cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 width="100%">
<tr>
<td align='right'><div style='padding-right:10px;'><label id='data_help_search_q_lbl' for='data_help_search_q'>Search Help: </label><input type='text' id='data_help_search_q' name='data_help_search_q' value='Search Help'/>
<button type='button' id="help_search_btn">Search</button></div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>
<tr valign="bottom">
<td></td>
</tr>
</table>

<SCRIPT type="text/javascript">
// This is needed for older browsers (like < IE 10) which
// don't gronk the autofocus attribute on the input element
window.onload = function() {
var input = document.getElementById("username").focus();
}
</SCRIPT>
<H3>Log on to Logbook of the World</H3>
<P>
<I>Note:</I> You must have been issued a certificate before you can log on to the LoTW site.
<P>
<FORM ACTION="/lotwuser/lotwreport.adi" METHOD="post">
<table cellspacing=0 border=0 cellpadding=3>
<tr>
<td align="right"><b>Username:</b></td>
<td><INPUT TYPE="text" id="username" name="login" size=12 autofocus></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td align="right"><b>Password:</b></td>
<td><INPUT TYPE="password" name="password" size=12> Note: This is <b>not</b> the password
sent to US amateurs via postcard!</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td></td>
<td><a href="/lotw/forgot">Forgot password?</a>
</tr>
<tr>
<td></td>
<td><INPUT TYPE="submit" VALUE="Log On"></td>
</tr>
</table>
<INPUT type="hidden" name="acct_sel" value="">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="qso_owncall" value="">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="qso_qsl" value="yes">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="qso_qsldetail" value="yes">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="qso_qslsince" value="1900-01-01">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="qso_query" value="1">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="qso_withown" value="yes">

<INPUT type="hidden" name="thisForm" value="login">
</FORM>
<P>
<I>Username/password incorrect</I>

<P>
Try entering your password in all lower case. If that doesn't work, please contact the Help desk via e-mail at LoTW-help@arrl.org or other methods at <A HREF="/lotw-help/GettingHelp/" target="_blank">Getting Help</A>

<P>
Your browser must support cookies and be set to accept cookies from
lotw.arrl.org in order to log in.

<p>Not a member of Logbook of the World? <a href="http://www.arrl.org/quick-start">Get started today!</a></p>
<p><a href="http://www.arrl.org">ARRL website</a></p>
<br clear="all">
<table width="100%">
<TR>
<TD width="50%" align="left">
<P style="font-size:80%">
Copyright 2020 American Radio Relay League, Inc.<BR>
All Rights Reserved
</p>
</TD>
<TD width="50%" align="right" valign="bottom">
<P style="font-size:80%">
<a href="http://www.arrl.org/privacy-policy" target="_blank">Terms of Use/Privacy Policy</a>
</p>

</TD>
</TR>
</table>

</BODY></HTML>

wa4pgm
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 3:27:04 PM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 277
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 150 time(s) in 129 post(s)
That message is saying to enter your username/password.

If you can login to LoTW from the web page I would make sure you're using the same username/password in LOGic. When the pop-up box comes up re-type the username and password and hopefully that works. I am sure you have done this but once more won't hurt. If that doesn't work I am stumped why you're having issues. Maybe Dennis can login to your computer with further help.

Wish you luck please let us know!!
Kyle
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 9/10/2020(UTC)
WN4AZY
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 3:28:59 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,444
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 551 times
Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 283 post(s)
Your username and password as stored in LOGic is incorrect. See hilighted text above.

Reenter your password in both password fields in LOGic. Then test using the OPEN LOTW SITE IN BROWSER button.

If, for any reason you can't get the automatic download to work in LOGic, you can always download an ADIF file from the LoTW web site, then import that into LOGic. There is an IMPORT LOTW FILE ON DISK on LOGic's LoTW download form.

Been having computer problems. Been back to HP twice. Keep getting blue screen of death in the video driver. They are sending me a new computer!

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
WN4AZY
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2020 3:33:49 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,444
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 551 times
Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 283 post(s)
Originally Posted by: W8JY Go to Quoted Post
I am having the same problem, but get no error message. I have not received a confirmation on any QSO made after 08/16/2020. All QSOs downloaded to me were shown as already received and all prior to 08/16/20. I re-installed v9.20.8 with similar results. I unchecked several recent QSOs from stations that I know use LOTW and upload regularly - still no change when I downloaded. I hesitate to download all QSOs - that would mean over 50,000 contacts.

Any other suggestions?

Jess, W8JY

Hi Jess:

There is a "download all QSOs since" field in LOGic. Put in Aug 1 '20 or the like.

You can always download whatever you want from the LoTW site and import that into LOGic using the IMPORT LOTW FILE ON DISK button.

But 50,000 QSOs, to put that into perspective, that's only a few seconds of video -- not a lot of data anymore.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
W8JY
#16 Posted : Friday, September 11, 2020 12:46:40 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 55
Man
Location: Au Gres MI

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 10 post(s)
Although I have uploaded all QSO's since 8-16-2020 several times, LOTW says that my last QSO received was 8-16-2020. I can log into LOTW and it accepts my same password that is used for logging into LOTW via LOGic. I have not downloaded any QSO's since 8-16-20 from anyone, and most of the people I have worked since then are LOTW users. Surely, at least some of those many contacts would have sent me a confirmation. I assume I would get any of those from LOTW with the indicator of NOT FOUND. I receive duplicate confirmations (already logged) that took place prior to 8-16-20.
I am assuming then, that LOTW will not send me anything dated later than my last uploaded QSO. So, they obviously are not receiving my uploads. Did the last update cause this????
Since I can log into LOTW using the same password that I have LOGic log in with, it is reasonable to assume that the problem is with LOGic and not LOTW. Help!
WN4AZY
#17 Posted : Friday, September 11, 2020 1:35:07 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,444
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 551 times
Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 283 post(s)
Ok, so you think that LOGic has not sent anything since 8/16?

LOGic gives you a preview of the ADIF file that it is uploading, so try sending everything since 8/16 again. See if it is in the ADIF preview.

You can manually upload an ADIF file to LoTW using the TQSL program. The ADIF file that LOGic creates to send to LoTW is in
c:\program files (x86)\logic\tmp
Look at it in notepad to make sure it contains QSOs since 8/16. Then run manually TQSL and upload it.

http://hosenose.com/Foru...TW-Troubleshooting.aspx

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
W8JY
#18 Posted : Friday, September 11, 2020 2:58:11 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 55
Man
Location: Au Gres MI

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 10 post(s)
My humble apologies, Dennis!!!! TQSL now tells me that my certificate has expired! The problem will be solved as soon as I get my new certificate.

It will be great to be able to get my act together so that I can again use all of LOGic's great features. Thank you again for your patience in dealing with one of your denser customers!
1 user thanked W8JY for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 9/11/2020(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.228 seconds.