logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Default Mode(s)
K2WH
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2018 5:34:06 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 75
Location: New Jersey

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
My on air operation is almost exclusively FT8 now.

However the default mode is "SSB". Is there a way to make FT8 a default mode so I don't have to change it to FT8 from SSB ?

Bill
K2WH
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
IK0CHU
#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 5:54:19 AM(UTC)
RedBaron

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 274
Man
Location: Viterbo, VT - ITALY

Thanks: 44 times
Was thanked: 49 time(s) in 44 post(s)
Hi Bill,
In the Logmain window that you are using normally press:
Log>Setup>Default
Add MODE field on the left and use the filter option as the screenshot to setting your preferite Mode FT8
Press ok twice and voilà.
When you insert a CALL into the logmain window and tab button the system will populate the field MODE with "FT8".
This is all
73's de IKØCHU Mauro
File Attachment(s):
ScreenShot712.jpg (98kb) downloaded 8 time(s).
IKØCHU Mauro
K2WH
#3 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 6:43:50 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 75
Location: New Jersey

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Whoa, those directions got me in all sorts of trouble, crashed the program.

I got into the setup/defaults and a long list of unoccupied fields appeared.

I then entered in the field the word "Mode" and then in the expression field I selected "Log.mode" (all without quotes).

That didn't seem to work.

Can we try again, what do I enter into the Expression Field ?

IK0CHU
#4 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 7:03:40 AM(UTC)
RedBaron

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 274
Man
Location: Viterbo, VT - ITALY

Thanks: 44 times
Was thanked: 49 time(s) in 44 post(s)
Hi Bill,
You are right before the filter option input.
So follow me step by step and will be all OK.
Open the filter
Click on "text" under String Function. Will change the color in blu and click again into "text" in the opened cascade window.
Will appear into COPY FROM expression window on the top ""
Now use the mouse and click between the apex FT8. The result will be "FT8"
Click OK
Click OK
The mods are done.
Now you can log all your qso and the mode will be Always FT8. Of course Others qso modes will be manually inserted.
Im sorry for the incomplete informations but I thought I had already done it sometimes.
73's de IKØCHU Mauro
***
IKØCHU Mauro
2 users thanked IK0CHU for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 8/29/2018(UTC), K2WH on 8/29/2018(UTC)
WN4AZY
#5 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 8:03:59 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,282
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 456 times
Was thanked: 308 time(s) in 244 post(s)
Thanks Mauro.

Bill, just look at the picture Mauro posted. Make sure you put quotes around FT8. You don't have to use the expression builder. Just select MODE on the left, and type

"FT8"

on the right.

I am not sure how you would input anything that would crash the program. It should not accept an invalid expression. If anyone can tell me the steps to enter a bad expression, I will fix it.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
K2WH
#6 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 2:03:35 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 75
Location: New Jersey

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
OK, thanks I think I got it.

Bill
K2WH
K2WH
#7 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 2:05:18 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 75
Location: New Jersey

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Dennis,

The program didn't actually crash but I got a series of continue yes/no windows.

I'm not sure I could duplicate that.

Bill
K2WH
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.068 seconds.